‘Tis The Season…

It’s a little over a month before Christmas! This can go one of two ways — either you’d be excited for the most wonderful time of the year or you’d go on a slight panic attack because you have yet to start your holiday shopping. Mine was the second.

In the past, I would start working on my Christmas list around August. I try to start early coz my list consists not just my own but also my hubby’s friends and officemates, my kids’ teachers, coaches, classmates and friends too. Yes, it’s quite a looooooong one! πŸ˜… After updating my list, I begin lookingfor gift ideas and start buying presents already. I found this system to work for me because I get delighted to tick off people from my list and I also get to spread out my holiday spending. That way, it does not hurt my monthly budget so much.

This year, however, I have not even begun with updating my list! Maybe it’s the pandemic’s effect on me. I don’t feel quite right splurging during this time knowing that other people have very little. And since parties and get-togethers are still not allowed, I’m not even sure if we will get to see most of our friends anyway.

Still, I believe Christmas is about giving and I certainly don’t want to be a Scrooge during a time when everyone could use some cheering up. So below are some suggestions which I hope can help you spread some holiday cheer too.

DONATE TO A CAUSE — To say that 2020 is a challenging year is the biggest understatement! Aside from the pandemic, we were beset by a volcanic eruption, typhoons and flooding. People can really use our help! So instead of gifts, maybe you would consider donating to organizations spearheading relief operations. I must caution you though, to make sure that you donate to legitimate entities so your assistance really go to intended beneficiaries. Personally, I recommend that you check out Project Steady which is in partnership with RockEd Philippines. They have been consistently providing support and relief across the Philippines during calamities over the years. They have always been at the forefront every time help is needed so it would be great if you can send some love their way.

There are also several other organizations that need funding for their respective causes. I am sure you will find something that resonates with you and what you hold dear to your heart. Sharing a few below to get you started:

World Wide Fund for Nature would need your donations for them to continue what they do regarding food and water security, wildlife conservation and climate change.

All Hands and Hearts is an organization that exists because of volunteers who give their time and help build and rehabilitate communities after natural disasters. In the Philippines, they helped us after the Bohol earthquake and Typhoon Yolanda (in Leyte) and they can only continue doing the work they do through the help of donors.

On the other hand, World Vision has dedicated itself to support children around the world. They help build communities where these kids can thrive. You may donate one time or go the extra mile by supporting a child’s education through their Sponsor A Child program.

SUPPORT LOCAL BUSINESSES – One of the biggest drawback of the pandemic is loss of jobs for a lot of people. The economy has suffered a tremendous blow and the best way to help boost it is by buying local and supporting these micro and small businesses. If you are giving gifts this Christmas, please consider buying from these small enterprises. That way, you are not only spreading the Christmas spirit but also doing your fair share in nation building as well.

Some of my favorites are Fruitables (yummy and healthy dried fruit bites and purees), Serenehome.ph (for handwashes, room and linen sprays and the like), Zarah Juan (locally manufactured bags and accessories) and Haligi.Ph (mindful and modern Filipino-made home furnishings).

INTENTIONAL GIFTING – Over the years, I find myself dreading the day after Christmas when I would sort through gifts received and hauling half of them in cabinets, never to see the light of day again. Don’t get me wrong. I am grateful for the gifts and happy that we were thought of by the givers. But sometimes, the items are not really stuff that we use or need. So, if you are bent on giving out gifts this year, make it more intentional. Find out what the intended receiver would really appreciate so they would know that you have put thought into their gifts and did not just buy what was available. If this is too much for you, there is also no reason why you should not ask. Create wishlists with family and friends! This way, you will not have to overly stress about what to get the friend who seems to have everything already and the recipient would be happy when they open their presents. Win-win, right?

THINK SUSTAINABILITY — With all these years that I’ve been doing Christmas shopping for our entire household, I found a lot of suppliers who offer very affordable items and truth be told, I’ve jumped on this chance to buy these for my kids’ friends and classmates. Usually, I would buy an extra for my kids’ use as well. Sad to say that most of these, while very cheap, are not of great quality. They get broken easily and would be in the trashcan after a few uses. From then on, I try to be more mindful — not just of quality but also of sustainability. I try to veer away from one-time use plastics and consider greener options if available. I try to look for gifts that they would appreciate but would last as well.

One more thing that concerns me very much is the amount of trash that we accumulate after the revelries. Because of this, I also try to be thoughtful about packaging and gift wrapping. I would try to reuse old ribbons and wrappers as much as I can instead of buying new ones. If I run out, I use old paper bags and just spruce it up a bit. If my gifts are pretty enough without wrapping, I give it with only a ribbon and a handwritten note. I figured that these small steps can still help and you jnow, save Mother Earth 😊

Christmas is just around the corner and I do hope the current worldwide pandemic will not dampen the spirit of the season. Just remember that Christmas is about love and forgiveness, time with family and loved ones. As they say, it is not about the gifts under the tree but those who are around it.

Happy holidays, everyone! πŸŽ‰

Leave a comment